ISO 41001 - Facilities Management System


ISO 41001:2018 Facilities Management System is one of the newest Management Systems published by ISO. It centred upon Building Management or better known as Facility Management. The standard follows the same format as ISO 9001:2015 Quality Management System, in that it was constructed using the HLS format. This is the common format for new ISO standards and allows for easier integration with other management systems that may be in place.

Why is ISO 41001 so important for Facility Management Businesses and Facility Managers?

Building Management is becoming increasingly more complex, new systems, size and height of buildings add new processes, procedures, documents and relationships. Implementing ISO 41001 can add value to Facility Management Businesses and direction to Facility Managers.

As with previous standards like ISO 9001, there is great emphasis placed upon external stakeholders and the influences they can have on Facility Managers. There is also a greater understanding of regulatory and statutory requirements, that would include use of energy, waste management or emissions. ISO 41001 helps Facility Management Team identify and put processes and procedures in place to mitigate risks associated with them.

Benefits of ISO 41001 certification:


Some of the benefits of implementing ISO 41001 are:


  • Improved safety, health, well-being and productivity of workforce;

  • Better efficiency and effectiveness, hence improving organisational cost benefits;

  • Enhanced communication of FM methodologies and requirements among and between public and private sector organisations;

  • Improved consistency of service levels delivered providing a common platform for all types of organisations;

  • Ensures you remain compliant with local and international statutory and regulatory requirements;

  • Reduces waste;

  • Better business credibility.

Adopting the standard can help a facilities management service or department to demonstrate the quality of its services either within a larger organisation or to clients and other interested parties. As with other ISO standards, compliance with 41001 can either be demonstrated internally through audit and benchmarking, or certification can be gained from an accredited third-party body.

Organisations that incorporate or run facilities management systems have the option of introducing compliance with the new standard into their business. The long-awaited management system standards (MSS) provide a benchmark against which facilities management systems and services can be assessed and measured.

It is not sector specific and is intended to be applicable to all organisations or parts of organisations, whether public or private sector, regardless of the type, size and nature of the organisation or geographical location.

It also reflects the growing needs and pressures impacting the sector, including:

  • new regulatory requirements;

  • increasing sustainability and environmental considerations;

  • growing resilience and security demands;

  • changes in the way the modern workplace is designed, used and equipped, often driven by technological change;

  • the drive for corporate social responsibility.

The ISO 41001 family is designed to help to provide a common language to assist in the international development of facilities management in a global market place, both within and without the facilities management discipline.

Adopting an ISO enables an organisation to demonstrate the quality of its professional facilities management services to insurers, regulators, clients and shareholders.

ISO 41001:2018 should be applied when an organisation:

  • needs to demonstrate the effective and efficient delivery of its facilities management services

  • aims to consistently meet the needs of interested parties and clients

  • aims to be sustainable in a globally-competitive environment.


In the future compliance with ISO 41001 is expected to increasingly become a prerequisite for business dealings, as is the case with ISO 9001 and 14001. Being able to demonstrate compliance or accreditation with the standard will therefore provide a competitive advantage.

The Structure of the Standard follows the same format as other standards that are developed with the High Level Structure (HLS).

ISO 41001 is divided into 10 sections referred to as “Clauses”.

  1. Scope.

  2. Normative references.

  3. Terms and definitions.

  4. Context of the organisation.

  5. Leadership.

  6. Planning.

  7. Support.

  8. Operation.

  9. Performance evaluation.

  10. Improvement.


The standard includes an Annex which provides guidance on the use of the standard.